"Dedicated to Child & Spousal Support Enforcement"

If We Don't Collect, You Don't Pay!

Follow Us

Facebook LinkedIn Google +

Back to Articles

WITHHOLDING LIMITS FOR CHILD SUPPORT.

By Ronn Bisbee

In California, the withholding limits for child support are an exact mirror of the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act Withholding Limits. (See CCP 706.50 and CCPA for state and federal statutes).

If the child support obligor actively supports a spouse or dependent child in his own home, and the child support arrearages are less than 12 weeks old, the withholding limit is 50% of earnings.

If the child support obligor actively supports a spouse or dependent child in his own home, and the child support arrearages are more than 12 weeks old, the withholding limit is 55% of earnings.

If the child support obligor does NOT actively support a spouse or dependent child in his own home, and the child support arrearages are less than 12 weeks old, the withholding limit is 60% of earnings.

If the child support obligor does NOT actively support a spouse or dependent child in his own home, and the child support arrearages are more than 12 weeks old, the withholding limit is 65% of earnings.

Other withholding restrictions may apply, depending on the source of earnings.


Serving Orange County, San Diego County, Riverside County, San Bernardino County, Los Angeles County, and Ventura County. We enforce California child support orders and spousal support orders anywhere in California, and in many cases, nationwide, under the the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA).